The other day I was talking to a friend of mine, and he was asking me if I ever find it hard not to be bitter about the things it seems I’ve had to give up to follow Christ (albiet they are small in comparison to some). He said he struggles with bitterness. Bitterness and self-pity are lies that Satan whispers in our ears to tell us that God is NOT really good. Truth be told- God is always good, even when our lives seem in havoc. Anyway, sometimes us Christians can get really caught up in what we want and what we desire and how it seems that following God often leads us directly away from those things. I wrote this song in response to this feeling because, honestly, what have we to lose in this world? We may lose family, relationships, jobs, health…etc- but this is still a world where we live with a heel that Genesis tells us was bruised by Satan. What we have to remember and let resonate in our hearts is that Jesus Christ has crushed the serpent’s head. In this life, all we really have to lose is the bruised heel under the blood and grace of Jesus Christ. Praise and glory be to Him. I’m singing this in church this morning. Pray that the people will hear the word of God and be changed by it.

Bruise:

You do all things well my God
and I lift up my eyes to my tower of strength
You laid down your rights and your life
to raise me up to glory to be your wife

So what have I to fear?
And what have I to lose
And what have I to lay down
But a heel thats all ready bruised

This world has brought me joy and brought me pain
and yet I look around and see all I’ve yet to gain
but held up to the measure of your grace
all my worldly wealth becomes my shame

So what have I to fear

And what have I to lose


And what have I to lay down

except a broken life that I have misused

But a heel thats all ready bruised


Fallen man, now is your time to choose
a fallen world or a God to strike the head and heal the bruise

So what have you to fear
and what have you to lose
and what really do you have to lay down
but a broken life you’ve probably misused
because of a bunch of Satan’s lies dressed up as the truth
in opposition to the mighty Good News
of a God to heal the bruise.

P.S. I’m REALLY tired of studying. I am NOT learning the map for theology of the pentateuch… and I’m NOT doing anymore Greek today- and I’m only HALFWAY learning the ancient near eastern texts. So there- take that!

Yeah, I pay for these classes!

About meginlea

Artist, writer, blogger, singer-songwriter, minister, mother.... DAUGHTER of GOD, wandering to and fro this wondrous world.

2 responses to “

  1. This is so true!Like Simon Peter said to Jesus: “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

  2. self just seems to always be in the way.  Hope the studies go well!

Leave a comment