I wrote this one a while back- last semester actually, but the Scriptural truth of its words comfort me today as much or more as they did when I first wrote them down, and I was reminded of this song when reading a comment of my post previous today. So- here they are. I hope they can be comfort to you. I praise God for His truth.

the references are to John 11 at the resurrection of Lazarus and the story of Jesus calming the storm although I can’t think of the reference right now-

Still: John 11’s song
The silence was deafening. Mary and Martha waited at the tomb.
They’d sought Jesus and didn’t know what else to do.
It’s in the silence and it’s in the wait…
that our Lord raises the dead, Oh us of little faith.

Be still and know that He is God. Peace be still and know that He is God.

The Lord slept as the storm raged; the disciples cried, “we’ll all be lost at see.
Unless we wake Him, what will be come of you and me?”
So Jesus calmed the wind, and my Jesus calmed the sea.
Oh us of little faith, we do not recognize our King.

Be still and know that He is God. Peace be still and know that He is God.

So I will wait upon the Lord though I cannot understand.
But wisdom not of this world, Jesus’ Spirit gives…
to all those God calls children.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God. Peace be still and know… Brother, Sister, join me! Be still, and know that I am God.”

About meginlea

Artist, writer, blogger, singer-songwriter, minister, mother.... DAUGHTER of GOD, wandering to and fro this wondrous world.

3 responses to “

  1. That’s a great song.  I like it.

  2. I love you! I’m so glad you’re writing on Xanga more. I need to do the same. I wish I was coming to Boston this week with Cynthia! You two are going to have so much fun. I have to take this stupid test on Saturday to hopefully get certified to teach in public schools. Otherwise I’d totally be up there this weekend. Seriously. I’d freeze my hiney off for you anyday. LOVE YOUwgc

  3. thanks WGC! I wish you were coming too. It would be so much fun- SO MUCH FUN. uhhh… sad day. cant you postpone your test and get your baby daddy to pay for you to come up here? I’ve enjoyed coming back to xanga, and i definitely miss your xanga. im glad my card helped you. earlier today a friend of mine (you know who) was really upset and i tried to comfort him but felt like i did a crappy job so i was pretty frustrated with my inability to show God’s love or help others… then you left me that message, and i felt better! So, if you get certified to teach in public schools will you go to albany? macon? boston? i still think the three of us should move in together UP HERE! ok thats all for now! miss you. love you, megin

Leave a comment